To the National Day of Unity

‘Portraits of Sierhijevich are my living friends...’ Portraits of Piotr Sierhijevich, an artist from Western Belarus, in the collection of the National Art Museum of the Republic of Belarus

Piotr Sierhijevich was called as ‘Belarusian Matejko’ and ‘heaven-born artist’ by his contemporaries from Western Belarus. Piotr Sierhijevich as well as Jazep Drazdovich is from the bunch of the first Belarusian national artists in Western Belarus. His art is extremely different. Sometimes it is hard to believe that paintings are made by the same author.

Self Portrait
Self Portrait
Piotr Sierhijevich
  • 1949
  • Oil on canvas

The artist’s symbolic paintings of 1920–the 1940s and portraits of representatives of the Belarusian intelligentsia in the 20th century are the most fascinating works among his artistic legacy. He painted 140 paintings and 160 graphic portraits: well-known figures of the Belarusian intelligentsia – Zośka Vieras, Liavon Lutskievich, Jazep Drazdovich and Maksim Tank, and many countrymen from Braslaŭ – peasants, teachers, priests, doctors, young and old people. There are 27 portraits by the master in the museum. In total, the museum has 28 works by Piotr Sierhijevich.

Portrait of an Unknown Woman
Portrait of an Unknown Woman
Piotr Sierhijevich
  • 1951
  • Oil on canvas

Piotr Sierhijevich was born into a poor peasant family in Stavrovo Village, Disnensky District, Boginskaya Volost and Vilna Province in the Russian Empire (now Braslaŭ District and Viciebsk Region) on July 10, 1900. He was brought up with a brother and a sister. His father died when he was 7. So, the boy’s childhood was troubled: ‘Living in poverty, we had to look for a piece of bread some place’, – the artist wrote in his ‘Autobiography’. It was published in magazine ‘Mastatstva’ in 1993. He soon became interested in art. The mother supported him, and she shipped Piotr off to the school of Józef Montwiłł in Vilna. The teacher admired his drawings. But, the family could not afford to pay for the school anymore, and the boy transferred to the Platter Factory School near Stavrovo.

‘It is time to focus on one thing’, – the mother told her son, who tried to earn doing different work to help the family. He went to earn money to Saint Petersburg in 1917. He took a class in engineering, and he worked at the securities factory. At the same time, the future artist visited the art studio of Aleksandr Andreyev.

He made his artistic career in Vilna, which became part of Poland from 1921 till 1940, according to the Peace of Riga. ‘There is Belarusian spirit in Vilna’, – Piotr Sierhijevich often said. He studied as a non-resident student (1920–1928) at the Fine Arts Faculty of the Stephen Báthory University. He became a member of the Belarusian Students’ Community from the 1920s. The artist started to sign his works in Belarusian. So, he remade his name Piotr into ‘Piotra or Piatro’. The dean of the Fine Arts Faculty was famous Ferdynand Ruszczyc who accepted the future artist as an irregular student. Ruszczyc bought his drawing of the Basilian walls. Piotr Sierhijevich had his hospitable workshop in Antokol, a suburb of Vilna. He loved the realistic portrait as well as his teacher Benedict Kubitsky, a student of Ilya Repin.

Piotr Sierhijevich was interested in graphics and sanguine (‘red chalk’) that is a method of drawings by Italian Renaissance artists. The artist liked sanguine due to his other teacher Ludomir Sleńdziński. The portraits of the 1930s present physiological similarity in male portraits (‘Engineer Dubeykovsky’, 1940), and light idealization in the portraits of women (‘Portrait of a Girl’, 1938). They demonstrate the author’s culture of drawing and ability to stylize his nature study in the spirit of the Renaissance.

However, he wanted to show facts of life and to be closer to village people. ‘We need to be with the people, and we need to look for our place in the world’, – Sierhijevich wrote in magazine ‘Kalossie’ in 1936. Peasants and his countrymen became the main characters of a number of portraits and drawings.

The ‘peasant core’ as a special constructive basis in Sierhijevich’s work, which critics wrote about, is seen in a combination of romanticism, realism and naive expressionism. This can also be seen in his portraits.

He was lucky to spend two weeks in Rome, Venice and Florence in 1938. He saw the works by the great artists of the Renaissance. Piotr Sierhijevich spent his last money buying a lot of reproductions and books in Italy. After the artist had come back, he showed them to Maksim Tank. This short trip and study of frescos by the Quattrocento artists helped Piotr Sierhijevich to make a lot of monumental works for Belarusian churches. He painted images of saints as local peasants who were the poorest worshippers in the parish. ‘Master Sierhijevich is the bright national artist... I am looking at some new portraits of his Braslaŭ countrymen on the wall. The portrayed people belong to the proper class position. There is a peasant’s stamina, self-confidence and belief in a better future in their eyes ’, – Maksim Tank wrote in his diary.

Portrait of Yazep Drozdovich
Portrait of Yazep Drozdovich
Piotr Sierhijevich
  • 1932
  • Pencil on tinted paper
Portrait of Lyavon Dubeykovsky, an Engineer-Architect
Portrait of Lyavon Dubeykovsky, an Engineer-Architect
Piotr Sierhijevich
  • 1940
  • Sanguine on paper
Go left
Go right

Piotr Sierhijevich, an obsessive expert and amateur of Belarusianity, began to cooperate with the Belarusian Museum named after its founder Ivan Luckievič in the early 1930s. He went to Navahrudak on the expedition to collect exhibits for the museum in 1932. He led the work of sculptor Rafał Jachimowicz in 1935. The sculptor was commissioned to make the bust of Ivan Luckievič from an old photo. By the way, Piotr Sierhijevich made the famous graphic portrait of Luckievič in 1934. The portrait became classics.

Piotr Sierhijevich is a completely Belarusian painter’, – critic Jan Malecki noted in Belarusian magazine ‘Shliakh moladzi’. He approved the artist’s series of portraits ‘Belarusian Folk Types’.

Portrait of Yazep Drozdovich
Portrait of Yazep Drozdovich
Piotr Sierhijevich
  • 1932
  • Pencil on tinted paper
Student Dunin-Marcinkevich
Student Dunin-Marcinkevich
Piotr Sierhijevich
  • 1932
  • Pencil on paper
Student Klyukovsky
Student Klyukovsky
Piotr Sierhijevich
  • 1932
  • Sanguine on paper
Portrait of Ivan Lutskevich
Portrait of Ivan Lutskevich
Piotr Sierhijevich
  • 1933
  • Charcoal on paper
Go left
Go right

The Minsk Soviet authorities became interested in Sierhijevich’s work after the unification of Soviet Belarus with Western Belarus in 1939. The event was met with enthusiasm by the artist. The reproductions of his works appeared in newspapers. The Union of Artists of the BSSR planned to hold the solo exhibition of Piotr Sierhijevich in Minsk in 1941. ‘There are all conditions for Mr. Sierhijevich’s creativity with the advent of Soviet power’, – wrote I. Rubinshtein, the head of the Union of Artists of the BSSR.

But, the war and the fascist occupation crossed out these plans. Piotr Sierhijevich returned home (Braslaŭ Region), where he continued to work on portraits of peasants (‘for bread and fat’). Then he moved to Vilna, where he worked as a ‘specialist in Belarusian art’ and a conservator at the Belarusian Museum named after Ivan Luckievič from 1944.

Kazimir Blazhevich
Kazimir Blazhevich
Piotr Sierhijevich
  • 1930
  • Sanguine on paper
Mr. Byh
Mr. Byh
Piotr Sierhijevich
  • 1935
  • Pencil on paper
Go left
Go right

The master’s career continued in Soviet Lithuania after the end of the war. He taught at the Painting Faculty of the Vilna Academy of Arts for five years. He sent his works to republican exhibitions in Minsk. Piotr Sierhijevich easily fit into the new style of socialist realism for him, although, his work for some time retained the old ideals of Western Belarusian romanticism. It was easy for him, because the basis of his work was clearly realistic. ‘It is important to paint what excites a person, and do not go through the motions <...> I cut and repaint some of my old canvases, but mostly I will work on the portrait’, – he wrote to Minsk artist Mikalaj Duchyts in 1967.

The master’s personal skills – interest in any person and rare internal empathy – made him an excellent portrait painter. The artist’s optimism and emotions contributed to the fact that each of his portraits became an example of a humanistic attitude to a person. He wanted to emphasize the best qualities of his models.

Modesty, simplicity and sincerity are the main features of his creative method’, – wrote his colleague, artist Vladas Drėma.

Soon he was recognized as a portrait painter in his homeland. His characteristic portrait ‘Partisan Fedya’ (1946) came to the Art Museum after the war. This is the artist’s cousin, who was a partisan during the war. He was a model for Piotr Sierhijevich to paint the portrait of Kastuś Kalinoŭski in the 1950s. The original photo was found after a while.

The exhibition of Piotr Sierhijevich was held at the State Art Museum of the BSSR in 1962. The monograph dedicated to the 70th anniversary of the artist was published by Arsien Lis in 1970. He and the artist had been friends for more than ten years. The artist’s big exhibition was held at the Palace of Arts in Minsk in 1978. The artistic intelligentsia bought many paintings at the exhibition. His ‘Self Portrait’ (1948) with brushes and a palette, and three graphic works were purchased by the State Art Museum. The old master was perceived as a legend, being a kind of pilgrim. Belarusian artists traveled to Vilna to listen to his memories of Drazdovich and Ruszczyc. ‘He is different from us by some real intellectuality’, – writer Uladzimir Karatkievich thought.

Portrait of Fyodor
Portrait of Fyodor
Piotr Sierhijevich
  • 1942
  • Pencil on tinted paper
Partisan Fedya
Partisan Fedya
Piotr Sierhijevich
  • 1946
  • Oil on canvas
Go left
Go right

The master’s career continued in Soviet Lithuania after the end of the war. He taught at the Painting Faculty of the Vilna Academy of Arts for five years. He sent his works to republican exhibitions in Minsk. Piotr Sierhijevich easily fit into the new style of socialist realism for him, although, his work for some time retained the old ideals of Western Belarusian romanticism. It was easy for him, because the basis of his work was clearly realistic. ‘It is important to paint what excites a person, and do not go through the motions <...> I cut and repaint some of my old canvases, but mostly I will work on the portrait’, – he wrote to Minsk artist Mikalaj Duchyts in 1967.

The master’s personal skills – interest in any person and rare internal empathy – made him an excellent portrait painter. The artist’s optimism and emotions contributed to the fact that each of his portraits became an example of a humanistic attitude to a person. He wanted to emphasize the best qualities of his models.

Modesty, simplicity and sincerity are the main features of his creative method’, – wrote his colleague, artist Vladas Drėma.

Soon he was recognized as a portrait painter in his homeland. His characteristic portrait ‘Partisan Fedya’ (1946) came to the Art Museum after the war. This is the artist’s cousin, who was a partisan during the war. He was a model for Piotr Sierhijevich to paint the portrait of Kastuś Kalinoŭski in the 1950s. The original photo was found after a while.

The exhibition of Piotr Sierhijevich was held at the State Art Museum of the BSSR in 1962. The monograph dedicated to the 70th anniversary of the artist was published by Arsien Lis in 1970. He and the artist had been friends for more than ten years. The artist’s big exhibition was held at the Palace of Arts in Minsk in 1978. The artistic intelligentsia bought many paintings at the exhibition. His ‘Self Portrait’ (1948) with brushes and a palette, and three graphic works were purchased by the State Art Museum. The old master was perceived as a legend, being a kind of pilgrim. Belarusian artists traveled to Vilna to listen to his memories of Drazdovich and Ruszczyc. ‘He is different from us by some real intellectuality’, – writer Uladzimir Karatkievich thought.

Poet Maksim Tank
Poet Maksim Tank
Piotr Sierhijevich
  • 1960
  • Oil on canvas

Until the last days, the artist was energetic, like a young man. He had a lot of creative plans. He worked on portraits almost until the early 1980s. He became seriously ill then. Piotr Sierhijevich wanted that the Belarusian Museum would be in his workshop. He even kept the sign from the former museum named after Luckievič. Piotr Sierhijevich died in 1984. He left an enormous legacy: 603 works made by him over 84 years of his life (he kept a detailed list of paintings in chronological order from his youth). Most of them are portraits.

Piotr Sierhijevich is the national Belarusian artist in terms of the content and form of his work, in terms of the subject and type of the main characters.

К Дню Народного Единства

«Портреты Сергиевича – мои друзья живые...» Портреты художника Западной Беларуси Петра Сергиевича в собрании Национального художественного музея Республики Беларусь

«Белорусский Матейко», художник Божьей милостью, художник «от души», — так называли Петра Сергиевича современники Западной Беларуси. Петр Сергиевич, как и Язеп Дроздович, из когорты первых национальных художников Западной Беларуси. Он настолько разнообразен в своем творчестве, что иногда трудно поверить, что картины принадлежат кисти одного и того же художника. 

Автопортрет
Автопортрет
Сергиевич П.А.
  • 1949
  • Холст, масло

Наиболее интересен Петр не только в символических картинах 1920–1940-х годов, а главным образом как портретист, создавший огромную галерею образов белорусской интеллигенции ХХ века. Он написал 140 картин и 160 графических портретов: и известных деятелей белорусской интеллигенции – Зоську Верес, Левона Луцкевича, Язепа Дроздовича, Максима Танка, и многочисленных земляков-браславчан – крестьян, учителей, священников, врачей, молодых и пожилых людей. Из 28 работ, принадлежащих музею, 27 – именно портреты.

Портрет неизвестной
Портрет неизвестной
Сергиевич П.А.
  • 1951
  • Холст, масло

Петр Александрович (Альфонсович) Сергиевич родился 10 июля 1900 года на самом западе Беларуси — в деревне Ставрово Дисненского уезда Багинской волости Виленской губернии Российской империи (ныне — Браславский район Витебской области) в бедной крестьянской семье. Воспитывался с братом и сестрой без отца, который умер, когда ему было 7 лет, поэтому детство у него было нерадостное: «Не имея своего угла, без своего хозяйства, мы были вынуждены постоянно искать кусок хлеба на стороне», – позже писал художник в своей «Автобиографии», опубликованной в 1993 году в журнале “Мастацтва”. Его интерес к искусству определился рано. Мать поддержала его и отправила его в приют Яна Монвилла в Вильно. Учитель хвалил его рисунки, но деньги на школу быстро кончились, и Петр перевелся в фабрично школу Плятера под Ставрово.

«Придерживайся чего-нибудь одного», — говорила мать сыну, который в юности пытался зарабатывать деньги, выполняя различные работы, чтобы помочь семье: ездил в 1917 году на заработки в Петроград, работал и учился на технических курсах при фабрике ценных бумаг и в художественной мастерской Александра Андреева.

Всю свою сознательную творческую жизнь художник провел в Вильно, который с 1922 по 1939 год, согласно принадлежал Польше. «Здесь, в Вильно, белорусский дух», — часто повторял Сергиевич, который стал вольнослушателем художественного факультета Виленского университета имени Стефана Батория, а с 1920-х годов стал членом белорусского студенческого сообщества и начал подписывать свои работы исключительно по-белорусски, сменив имя Петр на “Пётра, Пятро”. Деканом факультета изящных искусств был знаменитый Фердинанд Рушиц, который после просмотра рисунков Сергиевича не только принял его вольнослушателем, но и купил его рисунок Базилианских стен. В пригороде Вильно Антоколе много лет располагалась гостеприимная мастерская Сергиевича. Любовь к реалистическому портрету он перенял от своего непосредственного учителя, ученика Ильи Репина, Бенедикта Кубицкого.

Позже Сергиевич увлекся графикой и особенно сложной техникой рисования художников итальянского Возрождения – сангиной («красный мел»), любовь к которой ему привил другой педагог –  Людомир Слендзинский. Портреты 1930-х годов — от почти физиологического сходства в мужских портретах («Инженер Дубейковский», 1940) до легкой идеализации в женских («Портрет девушки», 1938) — демонстрируют хорошо усвоенную культуру рисунка, емкость листа, умение деликатно стилизовать в духе Ренессанса свои непосредственные жизненные наблюдения за природой, превращая натурный рисунок в изысканный эстетический феномен.

Но его душа тянулась к другим ориентирам: непосредственности и правде жизни, сближению с людьми деревни. «Надо идти в народ, ...надо познавать себя», — писал Сергиевич в журнале «Калоссе» в 1936 году. Крестьяне, его земляки, стали главными героями бесчисленных портретов и рисунков. 

«Крестьянский стержень», как особая конструктивная основа творчества Сергиевича, о которой писали критики, чувствуется в сочетании романтизма, реализма и наивного экспрессионизма, что просматривается и в его портретном творчестве.

Ему посчастливилось в 1938 году провести две недели в паломничестве по Италии — в Риме, Венеции и Флоренции — и увидеть работы великих художников эпохи Ренессанса. После приезда он с энтузиазмом показал своему другу Максиму Танку многочисленные репродукции и книги, купленные на последние деньги. Это короткое путешествие — глоток высочайшей культуры Возрождения и изучение фресок итальянских художников эпохи кватроченто — помогло ему создать множество монументальных произведений уже на местной почве, где он писал образы святых из местных крестьян — самых бедных верующих прихода. «Мэтр Сергиевич – своеобразный, с ярко выраженным национальным характером художник... Вижу на стене несколько новых портретов его браславских земляков, на лицах которых отчетливо выписана классовая принадлежность, а в глазах мужицкое упрямство, уверенность в своих силах и вера в лучшее будущее», – записал тогда в своем дневнике Максим Танк.

Девушка из Жодишек
Девушка из Жодишек
Сергиевич П.А.
  • 1937
  • Бумага, карандаш, уголь
Портрет инженера-архитектора Л. Дубейковского
Портрет инженера-архитектора Л. Дубейковского
Сергиевич П.А.
  • 1940
  • Бумага, сангина
Пройти налево
Пройти направо

В начале 1930-х годов Сергиевич, одержимый знаток и любитель белорусскости, начал сотрудничать с Белорусским музеем имени его основателя Ивана Луцкевича: в 1932 году он ездил в Новогрудчину в экспедицию по сбору экспонатов для музея, в 1935 году руководил работой скульптора Рафаила Яхимовича, которому было поручено изготовить бюст Ивана Луцкевича по старой фотографии. Кстати, в 1934 году он сам выполнил известный графический портрет Луцкевича, ставший классическим.

«Петр Сергиевич – целиком белорусский живописец», – признавался критик Ян Малецкий в белорусском журнале «Шлях моладзі», одобряя его серию портретов «Белорусские народные типы». 

Портрет Язепа Дроздовича
Портрет Язепа Дроздовича
Сергиевич П.А.
  • 1932
  • Бумага тонированная, карандаш
Студент Дунин-Марцинкевич
Студент Дунин-Марцинкевич
Сергиевич П.А.
  • 1932
  • Бумага, карандаш
Студент Клюковский
Студент Клюковский
Сергиевич П.А.
  • 1932
  • Бумага, сангина
Портрет Ивана Луцкевича
Портрет Ивана Луцкевича
Сергиевич П.А.
  • 1933
  • Бумага, уголь
Пройти налево
Пройти направо

В 1939 году, после объединения Советской Белоруссии с Западной, которое художник воспринял с энтузиазмом, творчеством Сергиевича заинтересовались минские советские власти, и в газетах появились репродукции его работ. В 1941 году Союз художников БССР планировал провести персональную выставку Сергиевича в Минске. «С установлением Советской власти для г-на Сергиевича созданы все условия для творчества», – писал глава Союза художников БССР И. Рубинштейн.

Но война и фашистская оккупация перечеркнули эти планы. Сергиевич вернулся на родину, в Браславщину, где продолжал творчески работать над портретами крестьян («за жито и сало»), затем переехал в Вильно, где с 1944 года исполнял обязанности «специалиста по белорусскому искусству» и консерватора в Белорусском музее имени Ивана Луцкевича.

Казимир Блажевич
Казимир Блажевич
Сергиевич П.А.
  • 1930
  • Бумага, сангина
Гр. Бых
Гр. Бых
Сергиевич П.А.
  • 1935
  • Бумага, карандаш
Пройти налево
Пройти направо

После окончания войны творческий путь мастера продолжился в Советской Литве, где он пять лет преподавал на факультете живописи Виленской академии искусств, отправляя свои работы на республиканские выставки в Минск. Сергиевич легко вписался в новый для него стиль соцреализма, хотя еще по инерции его творчество некоторое время сохраняло старые идеалы западнобелорусского романтизма. Это далось ему относительно легко, без напряжения, потому что основа его творчества была явно реалистической. «Важно писать то, что волнует человека, а не бездушно заниматься своим делом <…> Режу и переписываю некоторые из своих старых полотен, а в основном буду нажимать на портрет», — писал он в письмах к минскому художнику Николаю Дучицу в 1967 году. 

Личные качества мастера – интерес к любому человеку, редкая душевная эмпатия – сделали его прекрасным портретистом. Оптимистический настрой художника и эмоциональная привлекательность способствовали тому, что каждый его портрет стал образцом гуманистического отношения к человеку, стремления найти и подчеркнуть в его модели самые светлые и лучшие качества.

«Скромность, простота и искренность — главные качества его творческого метода», — писал его коллега, художник Владас Дрема. 

Вскоре пришло признание его как портретиста на родине. Сразу после окончания войны в Художественный музей попал его характерный портрет «Партизан Федя» (1946). Это двоюродный брат художника, во время войны был партизаном. С него в 1950-х годах Сергиевич писал Кастуся Калиновского, пока не была найдена подлинная фотография.

В 1962 году прошла выставка Сергиевича в Государственном художественном музее БССР. В 1970 году к 70-летию художника была издана монография Арсена Лиса, с которым художник дружил более десяти лет, а в 1978 году прошла его большая выставка во Дворце искусств в Минске. С этой выставки творческая интеллигенция купила много картин, а его «Автопортрет» (1948) с кистями и палитрой и три графические работы приобрел Государственный художественный музей. Старый мастер воспринимался как легенда, совершая своебразное паломничество, белорусские художники ездили в Вильно, чтобы послушать его воспоминания о Дроздовиче, Рущице. «Он отличается от нас какой-то настоящей интеллигентностью»,

Стары майстар успрымаўся легендай, паслухаць яго ўспаміны пра Драздовіча, Рушчыца да яго ў Вільню ў своеасаблівую пілігрымку ездзілі беларускія мастакі. “Ён адрозніваецца ад нас нейкай сапраўднай інтэлігентнасцю”, – считал писатель Владимир Короткевич.

Портрет Фёдора
Портрет Фёдора
Сергиевич П.А.
  • 1942
  • Бумага тонированная, карандаш
Партизан Федя
Партизан Федя
Сергиевич П.А.
  • 1946
  • Холст, масло
Пройти налево
Пройти направо

Портретам Сергиевича Максим Танк посвятил стихотворение “Перад партрэтамі Пётры Сергіевіча” 

Партрэты Сергіевіча – мае сябры жывыя, 

Заўсёды гутараць са мной аб перажытым.

Дзе ўбачыш ты насы класічныя такія, 

Што за вярсту пах чуюць сакавіты.

Дзе ўбачыш вочы ты, што шчырасцю яснеюць

І вусы ў цеплыні ад смеху і махоркі, 

І рукі ў мазалях, якія так умеюць

Трымаць сякеру, плуг ці стан сваёй танцоркі.

Сягодня, калі круг сяброў маіх радзее,

Я ўдзячны дружа мой, што ты іх увекавечыў, 

Што з землякамі мне падарыў надзею

На новыя прыгоды і сустрэчы.

Поэт Максим Танк.
Поэт Максим Танк.
Сергиевич П.А.
  • 1960
  • Холст, масло

До последних дней художник был энергичен, как юноша, горящий творческими планами. Он работал над портретами практически до начала 1980-х, когда тяжело заболел. Сергиевич мечтал, что в его мастерской будет Белорусский музей, он даже сохранил вывеску от бывшего музея имени Луцкевича. Сергиевич умер в 1984 году, оставив после себя огромное наследие: из 603 работ, созданных художником за 84 года жизни (подробный список картин в хронологическом порядке он вел еще с юности), большую часть составляют портреты.

Время расставило свои акценты: Сергиевич стал настоящим народным белорусским художником по содержанию и форме своего творчества, по тематике и типу главных героев. 

Надежда Усова – ведущий научный сотрудник Национального художественного музея Республики Беларусь